Sorry, Not Sorry.

I don’t like to hear I’m sorry from any one when apologizing for something they had done terribly wrong. It is a very light phrase and should only be used in instances when you bump into someone on accident or you are apologizing for eating the last cookie in the jar without knowing it was reserved already. I’m sorry has now just been said way too much that I’m not even sure how sorry one is when they use the phrase. It’s kinda like saying I love you. Just an over used phrase that has a thousand and one meanings and you can’t figure out which one the person is using.
I’m sorry usually leads to the response it’s okay from the receiving participant. I also hate that response. It is basically telling the apologizer that whatever mistake they had done will be accepted in the future as long as they say sorry (think about that for a moment) but its not. I had given a situation another look and allowed a person a second chance because being kind is not about giving people what they deserve (a first chance) but the opportunity for a second chance if they mess up. And this person said to me I’m sorry. I thought in my head well why did it happen then? If you knew you would be sorry or have to apologize, why would you let it get to that point? I mean I have a thick head and hate admitting I’m wrong but that does not mean I can’t recognize when I am. Who wants to have to apologize to someone? It just does not make sense. So when this person said sorry I said don’t say that to me, just do. Make it up to me by not letting the same thing happen again and preform the task to the best of your ability. This person then says I promise (another phrase that means almost nothing to me) and I said that’s fine do what you have to, to get through the night and that was the end.
Turns out that this person could not keep their promise to themselves and was not actually sorry because it happened again. I thought to myself. The thing that this person was apologizing for was really not something they were sorry for and on top of that, he broke a promise he made to not me, but their self. By making that promise, this person promised their self that whatever happened before will not happen again. Needless to say, it’s a rule of thumb that if you can’t keep a promise to yourself, don’t try promising things to others.

What I prefer when someone makes a mistake is a formal acknowledgement of the situation. Now again, little petty mistakes deserve a simple response but I’m talking about the mistakes that you know are bad. The ones we all tend to make from time to time. They require a recap of whatever the situation was and not a promise but a mission. A mission to not let it happen again. For example: if someone broke the window to your car, a true apology would go like this. I understand that what I did was not acceptable and I will do whatever in my power to not let it happen again. This sentence not only allows the receiver to know that you know what you did was wrong but reassures the person that its not something you want to happen again. And all the receiver has to say is thanks. It confirms the apology and all parties can move on from the situation. That’s it! No one is arguing and all feelings set aside, it covers the bases. Now there maybe need for further forms of apology such as cake (I mean who doesn’t love cake?) or chocolates (if you pissed of a girl I suggest flowers as well) but majority of the time this says it all. If this has happened to you, be sure to message me with any ideas, questions or whatever you feel like saying! I am somewhat of a internet junkie and so I will try and reply quickly but other than that, I will write soon so, Till Next Time!!

Keeping Things Peppermint

Leave a Reply

