The Choices I Make

I like to think I think independently. I do what I want, when I want, how I want it…..So I think. As an 18 year old, you would think this is a philosophy that everyone in the world follows. You grew up in your parents care and learned to mature and finally when the big one meets the eight, you feel as if you are out into the world, being able to do you! Only, you still live in your parents house, eating the food that your ma prepares every day and sleeping on the same bed you had been sleeping on since you were ten and it hits you: till you move out, you cannot live the life you choose to live but what keeps you sane it the things you get to do to yourself….no not the thing you do at night when no one’s home and you are bored and all alone…. I mean having creative control over your body!
As an African child, from parents who have very strict minds, I don’t even have this. The strictness of my parents (in terms of what goes on my body because in some realities, they are pretty slack) is un bearable at times. My mom is one of those moms that watches all the Dateline Real Life Mysteries and 48 Hours: Hard Evidence and believes that were going to die if we just step outside… I mean come on ma! Now don’t get me wrong, I worry about my safety too but I think I’ve matured enough to know what safe and what’s not…. I mean I pick my own friends… I think I’ve made it in the world already. Regardless, I have wanted a belly piercing for quite some time and I every so often mentioned it to my mom (if I tell my dad, he would kill me just for the thought) but she has disregarded my claims.
So one day, a good friend of mine and ventured out and I got it done. Two months later, I am loving it and they still don’t know. I thought it was my choice to express myself this way and if I was still afraid of my parents, I would never have the courage to get er done. On that note, as cliché as it sounds, it has opened me up to a world in which I absolutely love. I’m turning 19 soon so I’m now thinking of getting a small tattoo on my hip. Now I’m not making any rash decisions here but I have a very high understanding of why people love and adore body art and jewelry that I used to never have before.
I feel as if my adventurous side has defiantly come out and this summer has only been a sample of the things to come. I mean I did start this blog site! If you have been feeling a little adventures, be sure to message me with any ideas, questions or whatever you feel like saying! I am somewhat of a internet junkie and so I will try and reply quickly but other than that, I will write soon so, Till Next Time!!

Keeping Things Peppermint

Leave a Reply

